Join our mailinglist

Join our newsletter list to stay up to date with Deniliquin Golf Club news
Email address
Secure and Spam free...
Latest Results
Our Facebook Feed

Tom lands hole-in-one

A hole-in-one from Tom Wettenhall was a
highlight in round one of the men’s Club
Championships on Saturday.
Wettenhall picked up the Golden Hole
prizemoney with his efforts but it wasn’t
enough to pick up the Monthly Medal. That
honour went to Brian ‘Billy’ Bourke, with a
score of 70 net, also taking out A grade from
Peter Seely on countback.
Rob Wettenhall won on countback from
Peter Oddy to claim B grade, both scoring
72, while Jake Dedman scored 70 to win C
grade in front of Graeme Rothwell on 72.
Kym Sandford top scored for the day with
69 to win D grade ahead of Steve Phillips on
After Saturday’s play, Matt Thomas and
Brian Bourke lead A grade in the Club
Championships each with 73 off the stick,
with Vince Kelly (75) and Jimmy Poka jnr
(76) close behind.
Peter Oddy with 83 leads B grade, with
Noel Nicholas second on 84 and Rob
Wettenhall and Neil Boswell equal third on
Graeme Rothwell sits in first place for C
grade with 88 and Jake Dedman is second
on 89.
Ron Turner and Adam Wettenhall are
equal first in D grade with 98 and Brian
Dudley on 99 is close behind.
Bourke continued his winning ways at the
Rotary Golf Day on Sunday, teaming with
Mandy Phyland, Kerran Leetham and Felicity
McCalman to score 521⁄2 in the four
person ambrose win.
The team of Jimmy Poka jnr, Jimmy Poka
snr, Wayne Hodgson and Pat Aitken were
runners-up on 531⁄4, while Garry Baker, Rob
Gray, John Penna and Graeme ‘Wrecker’
Willoughby finished third on 537⁄8.
Brian Jennings carded 40 stableford
points to win A grade ahead of Peter Joice
on 39 to win Wednesday’s event.
Bob Landy also scored 40 to claim B grade
with Ken Maher runner-up on 39.
On the course this weekend will be the
second round of the Club Championships
held tomorrow.
Last week’s results:
Saturday April 7, stroke Monthly Medal:
Agrade B Bourke 70 c/b, r/u P Seely 70 c/b;
B grade R Wettenhall 72 c/b, r/u P Oddy 72
c/b; C grade J Dedman 70, r/u G Rothwell 72;
D grade K Sanford 69, r/u S Phillips 75 c/b.
Ball comp: B Bourke, P Seely, J Dedman,
G Corboy, G Rothwell, P Oddy, J Poka jnr,
G Willoughby, J Radeski, N Purtill, N
Nicholas, N Boswell, C Steddy, P Joice, M
Aitken, D McQuie, S Willougby, R Turner, L
Chard, T Wettenhall, B Dudley, K Sandford,
A Wettenhall, S Phillips, L Chappell, M
Thomas, R Wettenhall, R Campbell, V Kelly,
P Thompson c/o 76.
NTP: 2nd P Joice; 5th T Wettenhall, N
Werner; 9th C Steddy, J Dedman; 11th G
Willoughby, M Rothwell; 13th P Joice, N
Werner. Golden Hole – T Wettenhall.
Sunday April 8, four person ambrose:
1st B Bourke, M Phyland, K Leetham, F
McCalman 521⁄2; 2nd J Poka jnr, J Poka snr,
W Hodgson, P Aitken 531⁄4; 3rd G Baker, R
Gray, J Penna, G Willoughby 537⁄8.
NTP: 2nd M Radeski; 5th D Saunders; 9th
G Willoughby; 11th J Radeski; 13th B
Longest drive: F McCalman, P Astill.
Wednesday April 11, men’s stableford:
A grade B Jennings 40, r/u P Joice 39; B
grade B Landy 40, r/u K Maher 39.
Ball comp: B Landy, K Maher, P Joice, A
Lord, P Seely, J Radeski, N Purtill, B
Dudley, D Wells, N Nicholas, C Thomson, R
Moye, J Irwin, D Connolly, S King, G
Bracken, B Jennings c/o 35.
NTP: 9th F Conallin. Golden Hole – R
Thursday April 5, ladies stroke Monthly
Medal winner – J Choice 72 net.
A grade J Choice 72, r/u G Campbell 73; B
grade S Aitken 75, r/u N Turner 78.
Ball comp: P Davis, V Brunker, S Simpson,
P Lloyd, K Leetham, G Beckton c/o 78.
NTP: 5th L Liebenberg, 9th A Ferguson,
11th P Lloyd.
Putting – P Jarratt 29.
Tuesday April 10, ladies nine hole stableford:
D Hunter 19 c/b, r/u J Choice 19.
Ball comp: G Campbell, P Larcombe, Y
Holmes, M Menadue, L O’Brien, D Seignior.
NTP: D Hunter.